2 October 2013… To my girl friends…

Girls, girls, girls…

Thanks for your various emails & messages… Thought it was easier to send a group update. Sorry it’s a little impersonal but I’m juggling a lot at the mo.

I returned home yesterday. It was very strange arriving back with neither a bump nor a baby. Felt rather vulnerable and exposed, particularly in the context of the neighbourhood, if that makes any sense.

It was a wrench leaving baby behind, having been used to being able to ‘pop in’ at all hours and also to drop-off instalments of breast milk (he is on a sugar water drip combined with my milk but they are steadily increasing the amount of milk they give him until he will soon come off the drip). But I am so reassured that he is in such safe hands in Neonatal – everyone I’ve met has been wonderful. And although a bit teary when I was first home, after a few hours pottering and adjusting back to ‘normal’ life I soon realised it is going to be much better being here and workable.

It was of course lovely putting Isobel to bed myself and seeing her first thing this morning. I’m not exaggerating when I say she has grown up even in the six and a bit days I was away.

Mum’s still here, till Thursday and then returning on Monday for a few days. When she’s not here I can call on Ed’s parents and of course his sister for as long as she’s visiting from NZ.

My main commitment is the need to express my milk every two hours throughout the day and once at night, in order to provide enough for the hospital to give him his regular feeds. It seems in good supply now so I may be able to cut out one of those soon and ease the pressure slightly! Everything else fits in between but there isn’t much time!

I have decided to aim for one hospital visit per day, to have at least an hour’s skin-on-skin time with boy – during which time I need childcare for Isobel. Any visits beyond that will be a bonus but I think one visit is realistic in terms of managing home life, Isobel’s needs and Ed’s work commitments. We want him to work as normal now (as far as is possible) so that he can take a week off when baby comes home.

When will that be? They say the earliest is when he reaches 35 weeks, which would be Friday 18 October, two days before Ed’s birthday. We shall see. It feels a long way off but I’m sure it’ll go quickly.

Laura and Amy H – how amazing that I should see you so soon before things kicked off…what timing with the various provisions you brought to me, including big knickers galore! :-) And Lulu, how lovely to have seen you so soon after. Thank you. Thank you for your love and messages, Hannah, Amy P and Rosie. I know you are cheering me on from afar.

Amy P, I honestly don’t know about this Saturday working out…Ed is possibly taking the day off and it will be our first chance to take Isobel to meet baby, as siblings can only visit at weekends. It’s all a bit of an unknown. I’d love to see you but we may have to play it by a rather last-minute ear.

Laura, I honestly didn’t think I would need that double breast pump but thought it might possibly come in handy…It seems God knew it would – what a find! Will be setting it up shortly – have been hand expressing in mean time.

I love and value you each so much. Thank you.

Lots and lots of love… xxxxxxxx

This entry was posted in Toby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment