Early days…

To my friend, Jenny:

It’s been such a surreal day but we are so very thankful for our son!! He is so incredibly tiny but he is perfectly formed and beautiful and doing so so well.

It is going to be strange not taking him home with us… We won’t know anything for sure but it sounds as though he will be in her for at least 3 weeks, as they like to keep them in until 35… But then God can work miracles! At some point – probably sooner rather than later – they will discharge me and although it will be lovely to be at home with Ed and Isobel again and regain some normality – not having our new baby with us will be very strange.

I think my emotions are likely to change one moment to the next. But I trust God and know we are in His hands – so very evident from the way He has carried us through the last five days. And Ed and I are so very grateful for the support – both practical and prayer – from friends and family. Thank you so much.

We would be so grateful for the gift of a snowsuit for him and I really love the sound of the grey fleecey one with stars, without even looking! That would be so lovely – thank you.

His ‘coming home’ outfit – hopefully sooner rather than later.

I just went downstairs to Neonatal with another instalment of expressed colostrum, which they’re currently feeding him through a tube in his nose (1ml an hour) – and I was able to have a lovely skin time cuddle with him and even let him try and suckle on my breast – an art he won’t master for a wee while but he was certainly very interested in giving it a go…and with my little finger he already had a very firm suckle, which again is really encouraging for his stage and development. Was lovely and now I must get some rest. I’m now in the post-natal ward. They may discharge me tomorrow but I think ideally I’d rather have a bed here just a few more nights – perhaps even until my milk comes in, so as to make getting colostrum to him quick and easy for the first 3 days and of course to maximise cuddles!!

This entry was posted in Toby and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment